Doors wide shut

I could paint pictures of a life I wanted,

Or write a story that could heal me.

Yet I have found that I only sit mesmerized while roses wither and the stars shed tears,

because it is easy to say you’ve let go, but hard to look daily upon a constant reminder of your unhappiness knowing that it is a Herculean task to follow through.

Tell the gossips how I spent my nights in tears, trying to feel things that my heart had forgotten.

Remind my people of the pain of yesterday,

But do not forget to tell the ones I loved, how hard I fought for all the things i wanted to keep till there was no fight left in me anymore.

Tell them that I tried to rebuild broken walls and failed.

Tell them how tired I got of chasing people who did not want to join in my race.

Let them know,

that they can never ever wake a person who is pretending to be asleep.

Because I tried, and I was almost drawn to slumber too.

 

Leave a Reply

